CHENNAI OPEN 2018 – an ATP Challenger Tour Tennis Tournament begins on Saturday at the well maintained international class SDAT Tennis Stadium, Nungambakkam, Chennai.

The 8 daylong event will culminate with finals of doubles being held on Friday the 16th Feb and Singles final being held on Saturday 17th February.

TNTA is grateful to the Government of Tamil nadu, for being the Lead sponsor of the Tournament. Chola MS and Cholamandalam Finance and Investments – the 2 Murugappa group companies are the Sponsors while United India Insurance Company and Shriram Capital are the Associate Sponsors.

TNTA is thankful to SDAT for providing the Stadium and for all the support and cooperation extended to us.

Medway Hospitals ( Medical) , ACT Fiber net(Internet Provider) The Park Chennai (Hospitality), Zeven ( Apparel) and Yonex( Tennis ball), Influx Worldwide(Social media) are the partners.

Players from 13 countries besides India are participating in this prestigious tournament. The Main draw consists of 32 players – 22 direct entries, 2 special exempts, 4 Qualifiers and 4 Wild cards.

Yuki Bhambri India’s no. 1 player is expected to pose a tough challenge to the top seed and 23 year old Jordan Thomson of Australia currently ranked 101 in the world . Jordan was earlier ranked 63 in the world . The other marquee foreign player is Marcel Granollers of Spain who has been ranked 19 in the world at one time and is now ranked 133. The other Indian challengers are the Indian Davis Cup players Prajnesh Gunneswaran, Sumit Nagal and Saket Myneni. Saket is in the Main Draw based on his protected ranking.

Wild cards have been given to talented youngsters Mukund Sasikumar, Manish Suresh Kumar and Nitin Kumar Sinha and to the seasoned campaigner Vijay Sundar Prashanth.

Scott Ray the ATP supervisor from Australia has arrived. The other ATP officials are Timo Jansen from Germany, and Lalit Singh, Abhishek Mukherjee, Saibal Banerjee, are the other ATP officials. Saiket Roy.

and Ashay Shekatkar are the White Badge umpires and V.Santosh and Syed Akram are the addtional officials. Paulraj Saravanan is the Chief of Line Umpires.

Over 100 personnel are involved in the conduct of the tournament.

The Qualifying sign in will be held at the Residence Lounge The Park, between 7 and 9 pm on Friday 9th February 2018. The qualifying rounds will begin on Saturday 10th February from 930 onwards while the Main Draw matches will be held from Monday 12th February from 10 am onwards. It is a day event.

Entry to the event is free of cost. This should encourage sports and tennis loving public of Chennai to witness high quality tennis during the week.