Qualifying Singles – Second Round

Qualifying – [1] W. Trongcharoenchaikul (THA) d [WC] G. Suresh (IND) 62 64
Qualifying – [2] N. Cacic (SRB) d S. Prabodh (IND) 63 75
Qualifying – L. Margaroli (SUI) d [3] U. Blanch (USA) 01 Retired
Qualifying – [4] V. Vardhan (IND) d [WC] R. Rangaraju (IND) 63 60
Qualifying – [5] S. Rawat (IND) d S. Khan (IND) 61 62
Qualifying – [6] A. Kadhe (IND) d A. Kalyanpur (IND) 63 61
Qualifying – [7] H. Bava (IND) d D. Singh (IND) 60 76(5)
Qualifying – A. Shanmugam (IND) d [8] A. Goveas (IND) 76(4) 41 Retired
First Round
Qualifying – S. Prabodh (IND) d [WC] A. Nenwani (IND) 64 67(4) 64
Qualifying – A. Shanmugam (IND) d T. Hochwalt (USA) 64 46 64
Qualifying – L. Margaroli (SUI) d J. Pungliya (IND) 62 64
Qualifying – A. Kalyanpur (IND) d [WC] S. Mohandoss (IND) 64 60

COURT 1 start 10:00 am
Qualifying – L. Margaroli (SUI) vs [6] A. Kadhe (IND)
Qualifying – [2] N. Cacic (SRB) vs A. Shanmugam (IND)

COURT 3 start 10:00 am
Qualifying – [4] V. Vardhan (IND) vs [5] S. Rawat (IND)

COURT 4 start 10:00 am
Qualifying – [1] W. Trongcharoenchaikul (THA) vs [7] H. Bava (IND)

CHENNAI OPEN the ATP Challenger event in Chennai got under way at the SDAT Tennis Stadium in Nungambakkam, Chennai India.  The schedule of the day included a total of 12 qualifying matches, four first round and 8 second round.

After a grueling three setter in the first round local lad Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam kept up his winning streak in the second round when he got the better of Aryan Goveas 7-6(4) serving 7 aces and then led 4-1 in the second. Aryan then retired.  Abhinav will now meet Nikola Cacic of Serbia for a place in the main draw.

In one of the more interesting first round matches Abhinav ousted Tyler Hochwalt of USA in I three close sets in 2 ¼ hours.  Abhinav served 15 aces in the match. Besides he was strong and steady as he took the first set 6-4 wining a single break point.  In the second set, Tyler reduced his unforced errors and won the only break point to win the set 6-4 and then the match. The final set was topsy turvy with both players having their serves broken but Abhinav kept his cool to be a worthy winner.

In another first round encounter, Suraj Prabodh stroked fluently on both flanks to overcome wild card entrant Anurag Nenwani 6-4 in the third set which lasted 2 hours and 20 minutes.  Later Suraj had got back on court but went down to Nikola Cacic of Serbia.  The fresh Serbian took the first set 6-3 breaking Suraj twice while conceding his own service once.  In the second set both players leveled 5 all after sharing a break.  The Serb raised his game to win the next two games, the set and the match.

The fourth seed Vishnu Vardhan over ran Ramakrishnan Rangaraju in less than an hour.  He will meet Sidharth Rawat the fifth seed who routed compatriot Shahbaaz Khan conceding only three games.

Luca Margaroi (Sui) shut out Jayesh Pungliya in straight sets 6-2, 6-4.  Luca moved well and stroked smoothly giving Jayesh no chance.  Luca got through the second round when Ulises Blanch of USA conceded after just one game.  Luca will now meet Arjun Khade who made short work of Adil Kalyanpur winning 6-3, 6-1 in an hour.  Arjun fresh from his experience of playing at the ATP Event at Pune was sharp and in good form.

The tall and strong Adil Kalyanpur put down the wild card entrant 15 year old V.M. Sandeep 6-4, 6-0 without too much trouble.

The top seed in the qualifying Wishaya Trongcharoenchaikul (THA) made short work of the local player Gokul Suresh 6-2, 6-4 while Haadin Bawa got the better of Dalwinder Singh 6-0, 7-6(5).  Dalwinder Singh put up a resistance in the second set but Haadin was too experienced for him.

The 4 qualifiers for the Main Draw will be known tomorrow.

The top seed Jordan Thompson (AUS) is to arrive today while the Indian contingent of Yuki Bhambri, Sumit Nagal, Prajnesh Guneswaran, Saket Myneni and Mukund Sashikumar were seen practicing with a lot of intensity and purpose.

Scott Ray is the ATP Supervisor.  He will be assisted by Timo Jensen of Germany, and a host of Indian Officials lead by Abhishek Mukerjee, Saibal Bannerjee, Saiket Roy, Lalith Singh and others.